Monday, 21 July 2014

IMDB top 50 No. 47 “Gladiator” (2000)

In 2012 the BFI (British Film Institute) polled 846 critics, programmers, academics and distributors to update their list of what, in the experts opinion, are the greatest Movies of all time (to date).

In 2014 I decided to watch them.

4 films in I discovered they were artistic pieces that the common man would generally detest. Hence this “fun list” (list generated on 9/7/2014)

 

Number 47: Gladiator

Reader I am afraid I have a confession to make. Two films in a row now I have caught myself trying to write off classic films and deny them their place on the list. In the case of Back to the Future it was cinema snobbishness. With Gladiator its has been new=bad syndrome.

What makes this crime the worst though is that I do love both of these films and why I would subconsciously want to deny them I do not know. In fact with that in mind I am off now to amend my personal list with a couple of other films my “critics head” was denying a place. While I do that you watch this trailer…

This is the second Ridley Scott film on the list and its no surprise that the ex BBC designer has such a stunning eye for detail. If you forgive Gladiator the inevitable factual problems vlcsnap-2014-07-21-16h16m09s11(which and historical film must encounter) and the Hollywood fighting you can unearth what is actually rather a stunning film. Even Russell Crowe manages to be good and Oliver “what time of day is it I am pissed” Reed turns in a stunning (final) performance.

The plot is relatively simple and is covered very much in the trailer. There isn't much that happens that you do not expect and yet the film still moves well and is a visual and audible work of art.

RATINGS (at the time of publishing)

IMDB users rate Gladiator at a forum rousing 8.5 and I do not disagree.

Rotten Tomatoes insults the Emperor with 76% I sentence them to death 84% will do.

Yet again my intelligentsia gene tries to override my “Damn Good Film” chromosome and yet again it fails. Welcome to the Top 50 Gladiator, you can sit next to Alien.

LINKS

IMDBvlcsnap-2014-07-21-16h15m55s124
ROTTEN TOMATOES

Next comes a film I haven’t seen before. The question is does “The Departed” earn a place or not?

Saturday, 19 July 2014

IMDB top 50 No. 48 “Back to the Future” (1985)

In 2012 the BFI (British Film Institute) polled 846 critics, programmers, academics and distributors to update their list of what, in the experts opinion, are the greatest Movies of all time (to date).

In 2014 I decided to watch them.

4 films in I discovered they were artistic pieces that the common man would generally detest. Hence this “fun list” (list generated on 9/7/2014)

Number 48: Back to the Future

I was fully ready to ruffle feathers with this one, after all surely this and Star Wars, 2001 etc. should be a shoe in for inclusion. I wasn’t so sure and did not include the movie in my personal list. This was a deliberate decision, something in me honestly decided it wasn't worthy.

vlcsnap-2014-07-19-14h08m22s169Why? On watching with a critical eye it is clear that there actually isn't much in Back to the Future that warrants such prejudice. The film is actually a fantastic romp and a very original take on time travel. The plot has its holes (and they are already large without the addition of the following instalments) but the acting is superb and style fantastic.

About halfway through something snapped. My mind rebelled and you know what? Goddamnit it DOES deserve its place on the list. Please set a place for Back to the Future, it is joining our party.

vlcsnap-2014-07-19-14h25m46s114RATINGS (at the time of publishing)

IMDB users rate Back to the Future at a respectful 8.5 and I do not disagree.

Rotten Tomatoes loves it at 96% which is a little fresh 89% will do

The project was intended to make me think about movies both familiar and unknown. I didn't expect to revaluate something I thought I knew so well.

LINKS

IMDB
ROTTEN TOMATOES

I don't think the next film will be a mind changer however good it is…

You can watch Back to the Future on YouTube (dependant on region) for a small fee.

Friday, 18 July 2014

The state of the game

The trawl through the greatest movies cinema can bring continues with gusto. It has lead me to some dangerous and personal thinking.

I make these judgements on other peoples lists but what about my own list? Well I can reveal that there WILL be one. I am working on it now, however I am including some very special rules…

  1. The list is the list, it is in progress and will be revealed at the end of the project.
  2. If I review a film from either the IMDB list or the BFI list and believe it is worthy of inclusion in that list i must include it in mine making room for it by removing one of my own choices.
  3. No series, video collections or non-movie movies (for example Histoire(s) du Cinema due to its multipart format is not a valid inclusion)
  4. The list is in no particular order
  5. I can add rules at any time but cannot remove them.

So far films that will be included are

  • City Lights (BFI)
  • Alien (IMDB + Personal choice)
  • The Battle of Algiers (BFI)

Films that WONT be making my list:

  • The Dark Knight Rises (IMDB)
  • La Jetée (BFI)
  • Histoire(s) du Cinema (BFI)
  • Ugetsu Monogatari (BFI)

I am open to any suggested rules or inclusions…

Web Statistics