Friday, 21 November 2014

Zombeavers (2014)

Next on our list of the greatest movies of all time is Zombeavers, the chilling story of…nah just kidding, its a schlock horror.

Here is the trailer (WARNING CONTAINS GRATUITOUS BEAVER SHOTS)

Zombeavers is a throwback to the campy terrible 80s horror movies like Ghoulies and Creepazoids. FIlms made on a low budget by passionate people that just wanted to give. Its a ludicrous idea and a hackneyed premise (horny teens on vacation) so must be terrible right?

vlcsnap-2014-11-20-14h40m31s208

Well actually it was alright. Not great, not classic but alright in the same way I found Piranha 3D alright. Its self aware of it silliness and the acting is remarkably good. Effects are fine but the reliance on CGI in some long shots is less then effective, in fact if they had stuck to purely practical than the overall effect would have been far better. Zombeavers is definitely a polariser and I can see old schoolers like myself raised on the likes of Jason and Freddie enjoying it far more then the CGI spoiled brats of the Noughties.

Beaver on Beaver action

However the movie does have its flaws. It struggles to maintain steam after a while but does manage to pick up and limp to a quite nice and funny bookend of a conclusion and the aforementioned CGI is awful in the (thankfully) small amounts it appears. Model work is obvious but not terrible, after all Zombie Beavers!

The movie is available on the UK version of youtube.com and on DVD/Blueray throughout most of Europe but oddly it looks like the US have to wait for a cinematic release!

Watch it, its a nice time-passer.

Thursday, 6 November 2014

BFI Top 50: No. 42e Some Like it Hot (1959)

In 2012 the BFI (British Film Institute) published what, in the experts opinion, are the greatest Movies of all time.

42e Some Like it Hot

vlcsnap-2014-11-05-18h30m34s237 I have witnessed a miracle. A BFI nomination that isn’t utter drek. Yes a GOOD film.

Some Like it Hot is a great movie, I have to be very careful what I say however as a friend is a great fan of Ms Monroe… For example revealing that I have never seen it before may go down badly. Perhaps revealing that this was my first Monroe film even more so. But the ultimate, ultimate insult would probably be to say that she was the weakest part of the movie may result in a friendship termination!

Luckily, despite the billing and the hype, Some Like it Hot is not Marilyn's movie. That honour goes to Tony Curtis and Jack Lemmon whvlcsnap-2014-11-05-19h32m26s235o manage to perform the amazing feat of a transformation to female that, while ludicrously obvious, is one of the best I have seen. The story is simple. Two musicians go on the run hiding as women after witnessing the Valentines Day Massacre. Its witty and the comedic timing and script is sublime.So this is a shoe in for a top 50 movie right? 

Unfortunately Marilyn just derails it for me, how she managed to win a Golden Globe award for this baffles me. She is obviously spaced for a lot of the film and her interactions with the rest of the cast stilted to say the least. So much so that Holsten Pils could take the movie and edit in footage to create this ad ...

Its clear that she wasn't firing on all cylinders during the film, and when you are vying for a position in the top 50 films of all time then being gorgeous just doesn't cut it.

Close but no Holsten Pils

Actually that wont fly. I am overriding my decision and allowing it in. The film is funny, clever and well made despite the troubles from the star. Welcome into the top 50. Take a seat but mind the Xenomorph.

RATINGS (at the time of publishing)

IMDB readers give the movie 8.3
RottenTomatoes rate it at 96%
The BFI page.

Next, something foreign.

Saturday, 1 November 2014

IMDB top 50 No. 42 “The Pianist" (2002)

In 2012 the BFI (British Film Institute) published a list of what, in the experts opinion, are the greatest Movies of all time. They were generally bad.
Here is the comparable IMDB list…. (list generated on 9/7/2014)

Number 42: The Pianist

 

vlcsnap-2014-10-31-18h43m09s183 A harrowing and outstanding true story (based on) The Pianist tells the story of Wladyslaw Szpilman a Jewish Pianist caught in the heart of Nazi ethnic cleansing. Following Szpilman and his family as the world descends into madness it is an intrigueing view from inside of the Warsaw Ghettos and Jewish persecution.

The film is harrowing and compelling, all the more so as it is based very firmly on Szpilmans book which in itself is as true an account as you can get. Roman Polanskis direction is outstanding as always however unfortunately the model and effects work are not quite convincing and almost too ambitious to convince. 

The movie is certainly outstanding but sadly not top 50 outstanding. Telling the fascinating storyvlcsnap-2014-10-31-20h28m53s134 of one mans survival through the persecution of the Jews its almost obscene to say that it didn't quite hit for that very reason. One mans fight seeming rather petty and insignificant against such huge events. Reading that back that is as terrible a statement as it felt in my head but one I stick by.
 
That aside The Pianist is a fantastic film and misses my list by a whisker.

RATINGS (at the time of publishing)

IMDB rates this at a fair 8.5
Rotten Tomatoes gives it a typically high 96%.

The next stop on the list is Sunset Boulevard


Depending on local agreements you may be able to watch The Pianist via YouTube.

Web Statistics